20 Ga Suggetions for 10 Year old

Duck Assassin

Reaction score
I would like to get some opinions' from persons that have kids shooting 20 Gauges. My son is going to be 10 he has a 20 Ga single shot with shortened stock to fit him. This shotgun gives a kick and he hesitates shooting. Has anyone had experieiances with one make type verses others and felt the differences in recoil. Which has the least ? I do not reload.

Chance

Reaction score
My wife is just getting started in shooting.  She's pretty small and not interested in dealing with heavy recoil.  I ended buying her a Benelli Montefletro with a cut down stock and upgraded recoil pad.  It is a very soft shooter.  3" magnums do not bother her at all.  This is probably way more money than you're willing spend though.  We have over a grand tied up in this gun.  I felt ok about spending the money because I figured it would be a lifetime gun versus something she would grow out of.

Speckmisser

Reaction score
When I started shooting, I was a little scrawny guy.  That old H&R single shot we all learned on was kinda rough, but I adapted.  However, when I switched to a pump gun, it helped an awful lot.  The extra weight probably accounted for the difference.

Of course, a gas-operated semi-auto is going to probably be the easiest to deal with, but I personally don't care much for semi-autos.  I also have some minor issues about turning a kid loose in the field with something that shoots as fast as he can pull the trigger.

Jay

Reaction score
Any single shot is going to kick like a mule.

My suggestion is to get a pump or semi-auto and put in an extra plug so that it will only shoot one shell at a time.

KID CREOLE

Reaction score
I'd look for a Remington 20-LT 3" Magnum with a youth stock, not too bad of a kick!

Quacker Wacker

Reaction score