300 Win Mag question

wvhunter

Reaction score
I won a Ruger 77 in 300 Win Mag a couple of weeks ago and was wondering if any of you all used a 300 on deer.  I have always used a 308 or 270 and don't really know much about the 300.  Does a 300 tear the meat up very bad.  Any info is appreaciated.

bubba

Forever Hunting
Reaction score
I've been using a 300 on pig and deer.  I am shooting blacktail, a bit smaller than whitetail.  There will be more damage, but I think you can minimize it by choosing right bullet and good shot placement (heart lung).  I use Power Point bullets from winchester, good expansion, not bad on damage.  I've heard that Silver tips are very destructive so stay away from them,  Failsafe ammo is good, but there is a good chance expansion will not be as good on thin skin game, which of course could minimize damage but maybe at a cost of losing an animal.  I have no experience with failsafe, but am planning on using it on an upcoming Elk hunt.  Currently, I use 150 gr.  Power Points for all game in CA, no problemsthus far.

doccherry

Reaction score