Advice needed on finishing coyotes

jhill528

Reaction score
So I have been hunting for 19 years and recently began hunting coyotes with a foxpro. After my first night hunt and killing a coyote in the first two minutes with my 12gauge, I am hooked on night hunting. On my last several outings, this month, I have been able to locate the coyotes (using a coyote pack locator call), and I can get them actively engaged by using Male long howls and female yodels. For some reason, I can get them to come a bit closer (based on the volume of their howls, even being able to hear them growl and snarl), but I cannot get them to show themselves. I am hunting in fairly brushy country (los Padres NF) and I'm using a "Wicked Hunting Light" so I know I have plenty of light capability, plus to over come the brushy country, I setup over low lying sage flats and use the bed of my truck as a make shift highrack for a better vantage point. Last night, I held several groups engage in vocalizations for more than 30 minutes, but as soon as I mixed in either cottontail/ jackrabbit in distress or pup in distress calls, they quite communicating with me and I never heard or saw them again. This whole night hunting thing is tough since I can't see, but I have had a lot better success with locating the coyotes, just not such great luck shooting them (since the first one was soley luck I believe).

Does anyone have any advice on what I should be doing differently? Maybe different call sequences, maybe just use a locator to find them, then wait a bit and use a prey distress call. Of maybe I should just stick to going out at night to locate them, and then go back the next morning during daylight, and use prey in distress calls.