Anyone casting for 223 or 308?

jchrist1

Reaction score
I'm new at loading cast bullets. Was wonderin..Has anyone had success with 223 or 308 cast loads? Or is it better to stay with big bore?THANKS! GOD BLESS! Hawk.:smiley_doh:

myfriendis410

Reaction score
It's been many years since I cast for small bore (smaller than .375 caliber). My experience was not that rewarding as these cartridges were really designed for high pressure loads. You can shoot lead, and you can get on paper, but I really think you will be disappointed in the end for all of the work you put in.

That said, I would focus on the .30 caliber stuff. I would use a gascheck mold, cast with hard alloy that can be chilled/hardened and use top of the line lubricant. The best alloy I've found is wheel weights and tin to mimic Linotype with the understanding that wheel weights have a small amount of arsenic in the mix to harden when chilled. The tin is necessary to fill the mold and maintain crisp edges. The more money you spend on your molds and lead pots, the better, within reason. Chilling your bullets in the freezer for 48 hours can dramatically harden the finished bullet, resulting in less leading and higher velocities.

Weigh everything. Discard anything outside of your tolerance band. Visually examine and discard as appropriate.

For optimum results it would be a good idea to slug your barrel to determine its bore size. This will allow you to size your bullets to a nominal .001" over that dimension.

All of this is very general and there is a wealth of information out there to be found. Lead has been shot for a loooong time and it is, or was, pretty well understood. Most of this however was done in .40 caliber and larger bores with somewhat different rifling depths, I believe. Paper patching was popular. Again, large bore, straight or minimum taper stuff.