Arizona Crowns Youth Trap Champions Teams


Mar 11, 2001
Reaction score
Arizona Crowns Youth Trap Champions Teams Qualify for Upcoming National Championships


SCOTTSDALE, Arizona—Young trap shooters from across Arizona earned state titles—with many qualifying to represent Arizona at upcoming national championships—at last weekend’s Scholastic Clay Target Program (SCTP) Arizona Commissioner’s Cup Trap State Championship.

The competition, held May 3 at Red Mountain Trap and Skeet, featured some of Arizona’s top young shooters in five divisions: varsity, junior varsity, intermediate advanced, intermediate entry and rookie.

SCTP, for youths in grades 12 and under, is a program of the National Shooting Sports Foundation managed in partnership with the national governing bodies for shooting sports: USA Shooting, Amateur Trapshooting Association, National Skeet Shooting Association and National Sporting Clays Association.

With remarkable growth over the past eight years, the program is considered “the Little League of shooting sports.” Some 8,000 to 9,000 students from over 45 states are expected to compete this year.

Arizona teams participating in the state title shoot qualified for the SCTP National Championships July 31-Aug. 5 at the World Shooting and Recreational Complex in Sparta, Ill.

The best of these young shooters could be selected to attend an Olympic development camp in Colorado Springs, and some will go on to compete at the collegiate level.

For more information, visit


SCTP Arizona Commissioner’s Cup Trap State Championship
(held May 3, Red Mountain Trap and Skeet, Scottsdale, Ariz.)

Varsity Division (grades 9-12)
1st Place—Target Terminators 1, 935 out of 1,000 targets (Garret Cobbs of Laveen, Justin Williams of Gilbert, Kyle Hagberg of Mesa, Zachary Kelly of Phoenix, Justin Ruggiero of Mesa).
2nd Place—Dust Devils, 848 (Adam Dicerbo of Scottsdale, Shane Fritz of Apache Junction, Jay Hanaoka of Mesa, Alan B. Siegel of Mesa, David Wolfe of Mesa).
3rd Place—Ben Avery, 844 (Phillip Mongeon of Phoenix, Lane Shank of Phoenix, Brett Hoeppner of Cave Creek, Lucas Feringa of Glendale, Kimberly Peters of Surprise).

Junior Varsity Division (grades 9-12)
1st Place—Target Terminators 1, 808 out of 1,000 targets (Nathan Kempton of Queen Creek, Christopher Vansickle of Glendale, Tanner Kempton of Queen Creek, Jessi Mennetti of Mesa, Quinton Moore of Gilbert).
2nd Place—Dust Devils, 716 (Jeremy Dillard of Mesa, Devon Gilbert of Chandler, Trevor Greer of Mesa, Chad Nicolazzi of Mesa, Kayce Peters of Mesa).
3rd Place—Not awarded.

Intermediate Advanced Division (grades 6-8)
1st Place—Ben Avery 1, 885 out of 1,000 targets (Perry Edward Miller of Goodyear, Holden Huff of Scottsdale, Tanner Bissell of Desert Hills, Chase Karvanek of Anthem, Shelby Shank of Phoenix).
2nd Place—Ben Avery 2, 879 (Austin Elbert of Waddell, Kyle M. Hajek of Cave Creek, John Heim of Glendale, Mack Gibson of Phoenix, Andrew Witte of Phoenix).
3rd Place—Target Terminators 1, 875 (Ryan Bollinger of Phoenix, Samantha Collins of Phoenix, Kyle Kraayenbrink of Gilbert, Caleb Stratton of Queen Creek, Klay Wandelear of Queen Creek).

Intermediate Entry Division (grades 6-8)
1st Place—Ben Avery 1, 856 out of 1,000 targets (Paysen Unger of Phoenix, Dylan Karvanek of Anthem, Taylor Saunders of New River, Van Brophy of Phoenix, Trent P. Jordan of Phoenix).
2nd Place—Target Terminators, 818 (Stephen Fuller of Phoenix, Rhett Lueck of Gilbert, Christopher McBee of Gilbert, Zachary McBee of Gilbert, Kent Thomas of Mesa).
3rd Place—CATS, 600 (Steven Shedd of Eloy, Austin Bradford of Casa Grande, Cory Cuevas of Casa Grande, Jonathan G. Reyes of Eloy, Julianna Tapia of Casa Grande).

Rookie Division (grades 5 and under)
1st Place—Ben Avery 1, 314 out of 1,000 targets (Casey Coleman of Peoria, Mitchell Jones of Glendale, Tyler Sims of Dewey, Anthony Tartaglia of Phoenix, Cal McGraw Kearney of Mesa).
2nd Place—Tucson Shooting Stars Rookie, 307 (Ben Garrett of Tucson, Chase Hernandez of Marana, Gunnar R. Johnson of Sahuarita, Austin Keene of Tucson, Sam Roehrich of Tucson).
3rd Place—Ben Avery 2, 284 (Tim Lehmann of Phoenix, Caleb Ruegsegger of Phoenix, Trevor T. Hartigan of Anthem, Jacob R. Rodriguez of Phoenix, Aryeh Richter of Scottsdale).

Media Contact:
Tom Cadden, Arizona Game & Fish Department, (623) 236-7392 or

Top Bottom