Auto focus on the owl pf, yes or no?

Shrewshooter

Well-known member
Joined
May 6, 2002
Messages
186
Reaction score
0
Looking at some of the post of new cams on here i see that some people are making the lens hole in there case big enough to exspose the auto focus lens. Mine is not and the pics seem fine. I thought that the auto focus only worked if you held the shutter half way down for the camera to focus, then snaped your pic. If this is the case then why make the hole in the case any bigger than you have to?
Did i do it wrong by not exsposing the auto focus lens? Thanks for any help or advice. Mike
 



MBullism

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 30, 2001
Messages
1,905
Reaction score
0
I cut the holes for mine, working on the assumption that it can't hurt...  I figure if they went to all the trouble to design and manufacture it, I'm not gonna disable it.

Worked great so far...
 

INshedpicker

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 29, 2001
Messages
235
Reaction score
0
Well, this topic has been beat to death a few times, but I'll give you my answer.  After all, everyone is entitled to MY opinion :smile-big-blue:

No, you didn't do it wrong.  Yes the autofocus works without an extended 1/2 press.  Read up in your manual on "Focus Locking," to understand the use of a 1/2 press before taking a pic.  Focus locking is not usefull however in a trail cam.

Bottom line:  I geat pics as clear as you'd want without the autofocus elements exposed.

(Edited by msfelton at 7:58 pm on May 27, 2002)
 

Shrewshooter

Well-known member
Joined
May 6, 2002
Messages
186
Reaction score
0
Thanks guys, Im new at this and did not see any other post on it yet, Guess i should have checked around. Thanks again for the reply. Mike
 

woodsman

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 6, 2002
Messages
1,086
Reaction score
0
Not sure if it makes a difference ,(non that I can tell) I do cut out all the holes  
 

bat

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 12, 2002
Messages
4,354
Reaction score
0
Just my 2¢, it does say in the troubleshooting part.  The photographs are blurred...cause---When the shutter was released, the AF emitter/sensor were blocked....
Remedy---Ensure that the AF emitter/sensor are not blocked etc.  I leave mine unblocked "just in case".  I understand the half/shutter stuff but it doen't hurt to leave it unblocked.  bat
 

Archilochus

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 27, 2001
Messages
1,285
Reaction score
0
In most situations with the Owls, it does not seem to make any difference.  On some other cams, having the AF sensors exposed makes a big difference.  So if you're ever trying out another cam, don't assume what's works for the Owls will work for that cam.
Can't hurt to sut the hole a bit bigger though.....

Archilochus' 0.02
 

Shrewshooter

Well-known member
Joined
May 6, 2002
Messages
186
Reaction score
0
Thanks for the replies, it looks like i will just let well enough alone. As my old pappy always said ..."Son, if it aint broke, don't fix it" Mike
 

shrtcirkt

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 22, 2001
Messages
328
Reaction score
0
I dont cut the extra holes out anymore. I have pics of deer walking into the camera from over 30' down to about 10' and the pics are clear and sharp all along the way.
Just more work that is not necessary... IMO
 

davered1

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 1, 2001
Messages
1,793
Reaction score
0
I have never cut the AF holes either, think some are cutting them now just because it's the size of the UV filter they have. ALL CANON cameras used here take just as good pics without the AF exposed!!
 


Top Bottom