Blacktail habitat/land management opinions

matt392

Reaction score
First off...if this is in the wrong section I apologize in advance.

In another thread I posted I have a client that is giving me access to his private property in A zone. He has also said that I can cut trees/manzanita etc. to improve hunting. He does not hunt so he is basically leaving the whole thing up to me (which is perfect). I am just getting started with the "lay of the land" and was wondering a few things.

The cover up there is pretty dang thick. Super thick. However, there are a few natural clearings and I was hoping to make a few more clearings or expand the ones that are currently there. The biggest of the clearings is probably 150x50 yards or so. In everyone's expert opinion, what is the "ideal size clearing"? I know bucks don't spend many daylight hours in clearings but I feel a clearing that is only 150 yards (at most) is pretty small. I'm used to hunting clearings that are much larger.

How about location of the "ideal clearing"? Obviously close to water is going to be key but beyond that...top of a ridge, halfway up, in a draw or even a saddle? Just curious what others think. I have my own preferences but just wondering what you all think.

Also wondering if anyone has any experience with logging companies doing work (roads, cutting) in exchange for the timber on the property? I have some friends that did this on the coast many years ago but the outfit they used is no longer.

slamdmini

Reaction score