Canon case and soldering

Volhunter

Reaction score
I finally got all my goodies together to do this project. I got the back of the Canon OWL PF case off, but can't figure out how to get the front off. I'm afraid I am going to break it. Is there a trick to it? Also, after looking at where I need to solder to the circuit bourd on the camera, I'm scared I will screw it up! Man, that is a little spot! I don't think I have enough hands to hold the pencil, the wire, and the solder! Is there a trick to this? I have never done any soldering of this type before and its been a long time since I have soldered period. I thought I might go the the local TV repair shop and get some trashed circuit boards to practice on. Any thoughts or pointers would be appreciated. By the way, I have already looked at the "how to" sites on soldering, but they are pretty generic and don't really address this type of connection or the bridging...especially for a rookie like me. Am I in over my head?

NC Bowhunter

Reaction score
When I started this project, it was the first time I had soldered anything, so I was a true rookie also.  I just took my time, and was as careful as possible, and I've managed to wire two Owl PFs properly, so I'm sure you can as well.

I was also a bit timid when removing the case.  First make sure there isn't a screw that you missed (I believe you need to get the screw on the left side where the film is loaded to remove the front cover.  It's the one behind the spool, not the other two.)  Once all the screws are out, just work your way around slowly prying it out until it works loose.

As for the soldering, it wasn't as hard as I thought it would be once I practiced a little.  I probably didn't do the best job to start with, but it worked properly.  A little practice on some old circuit boards would probably be a good idea.  Also, it's also a lot easier to get to, once the front cover is removed.

I hope this helps you, and good luck with your camera.

BowDoc