Cheap Game Camera

shadow

Reaction score
MADE A GOOD GAME CAM FOR A TOTAL OF ABOUT $46.00 using part of Jesse's plans and buying everything...Thanks for giving public access to your plans.  The big money save for me was finding the light at Wal-Mart.  I am not an electrical engineer or any of the sort but a few well placed questions to a couple of engineers put me on the right tract with just adding a reed relay to the light to close the circuit for the camera.  I then used your plans on modifying the camera.

1.  Green Ammo Can $3.00(Army surplus store)
2.  One tube Clear Caulk $2.00(Home Depot)
3.  Portable Motion Light (Wal-Mart sells it for $10.49...in the hardware dept...it is a small motion/heat activated light powered by 4 AA's)
       a. Light sense's heat/movement for about 30 feet (good enough for a camera flash)
       b. includes all components from the sensor and board to the battery holder etc...
       c.  includes a plug on the side to plug in a 6 volt power source. (lantern battery but it won't be needed, it should last all season on 4 AA's since all it is doing is closing the circuit and not running any lights etc...
       d.  compact design fits great in the green ammo can or you can "strip" the insides out and put in a different container all together.
4.  Cannon Owl AF camera on EBAY $21.00
5.  5 volt Reed Relay $2.49 (radio shack)
6.  Stereo speaker wire $1.89(Home Depot)
7.  Stereo head phone jacks to connect camera to light $1.99(radio shack)
8.  Small toggle switch $1.49 (used to turn the system off and on)(radio shack)
9.  Small momentary switch $1.49 (used for testing the batteries and connecting it to the light bulb which came with the light)(radio shack)
10. foam to cushion everything in can $free (had it laying around)