Bow Runner

Reaction score
What is the cheapest cam I can make.  I am an college student and can not afford the 400 dollar cams.  if someone could have some suggestions i would appreciate it.
What camera does it use.  What would be the total cost?  And if you have time a breakdown of items and price.  

Bow Runner

Reaction score
i should probably clarify what i would like to include on my cam.

time on picture,
event counter,

also can someone give me a link to make just an event counter. no cam.

TNDEERHUNTER

Reaction score
Bow Runner, I made a cam for less than 40 dollars once. I bought a canon owl AF Date off of ebay for $8.95 and a RS PIR for $9.00 on sale and a ammo box from the army surplus for $3.50 plus a little camo tape $5.00 a few switches and wire $5.00.So as you can see you can build one cheap. Most of the Owl AFs on ebay go for around $25.00 now. So you can still build one for around $60.00. As far as an event counter I think Tinhorn,Brian or one of the others have a schematic for one. I'm sure they will leave a post here. Good luck!

Archilochus

Reaction score
Hi BR,
Well... you can build a nice dateback trail-cam for well under 100US$ if you're good at scrounging bits here & there.  For a basic event counter to go with the cam, you'll probably want to go with one of Brians controller ICs.  Read Jesses main 'cam page' and the past posts in this forum for tons of ideas!

When you say event counter - do you mean event/time/date - or just the number of events??  Lots of difference in price between the two!!

Archilochus

(Edited by Archilochus at 5:37 am on July 5, 2002)

ArkansasElkHunter

Reaction score