Confirmation for taking procedures of deer

J.O.

Reaction score
Hello all,

I am new to deer hunting and this coming season will be my first. After lurking throughout the threads and doing research, I cannot seem to clarify a few questions. First off, I will be hunting in So Cal Zone D19. For those that may not be aware, this area is constantly in the high 90's or tripple digits for the temp very quickly. Heck it could be in the 80's as early as 8am.

So here are a few questions that I have:

After you take a deer you field dress as it lies to quickly lower the body temp? Once dressed and you haul the deer out to your truck, would it be a good idea to bring ice in a cooler which you could stuff the body cavity with as soon as it gets to the truck? Then once you get the carcass home do you hang the body head up or head down? Seems like head down but I'm not sure what the benifits to either are? Please keep in mind that the temperature will be warm outside most likely at this point. Then while hanging you skin the body and pepper it to prevent flies or bugs from ruining the meat? How long should the body hang and at what temp should I try to keep carcass in while it is hanging? If I hung the body in my garage the temp within there will probably be around 100-120. At the end of the hanging phase I take the carcass to a butcher and have the meat processed?Do I need to keep the body at a certain temp while its hanging and when I transport it to the butcher?

Any clarification on what to do is greatly appreciated. I am confused on what I should do!!!:skeered::smiley_doh:

Thanks,
JO

BigDog

Reaction score