Confrontation in the field

FTTPOW

Reaction score
I just got back from the first week of Ohio's 4 week season. We left last Saturday night to get settled in to our cabin in advance of Monday's opener. Sunday afternoon we took a little nap. While I was still pounding my pillow we got a visit from a new neighbor that just moved onto the scene last fall. He has permission to hunt the same farm as us. He informed my buddy that he and 3 others were going to hunt the exact spot that I've been hunting for the past 30 years and that he didn't want to see us there. He was very blunt and forcefull. My buddy definately should have awakened me, but chose not to.

After I woke up and heard the demands that he'd earlier made, I immediately went to the landowner for clerification. He assured me that I could hunt anywhere on his land and that he'd talk to the newcomer and remind him that HE was the only one that he gave permission to and not his 3 buddies. Everything looked to be dealt with by the right people.

Monday morning I parked my 4 wheeler in my usual spot and started across the field in the dark. I hadn't gone but a few hundred yards when I saw another 4 wheeler coming down the road, past the spot I thought he would stop at and park directly where I'd parked. The still pre-dawn silence erupted in a profane demand to know who parked in his spot and what the "h" I thought I was doing there. I replied back that I was hunting and had permission. The next thing I know and this clown was running across the field to me ranting and raving about being clear that he didn't want to see us in his newly staked out claim. He thought that just because he only lived 1/2 mile away he seemed to have the right to take over without thinking that others shared the same property, who'd been there long before him and already had their favorite areas.