Custom Rods

SDHNTR

Reaction score
Hi guys,
Just wanted to see if there was anyone else on this board that wraps rods.  I've been doing it for a few years and now seem to be busy wrapping rods for all my buddies.  I'd love to swap some ideas.  
Nate

Grey Taylor

Reaction score
Nate, I used to do a bunch of rods.  I haven't been doing a lot of fishing lately but have taken my rod wrapping over to arrow making.  I use thread instead of paint for the cresting on arrows I make.  It turns out pretty good.

I've still got a few blanks that have been giving me the evil eye because they aren't wrapped but man, those Fuji guides haven't gotten any cheaper!

Guy

SDHNTR

Reaction score
Grey,
Yep its still an expensive hobby.  But I can make enough wrapping to keep me busy and fund a few trips.  What blanks do you have?  I might know someone to take them off your hands if you are looking to sell.  

Grey Taylor

Reaction score
Sell my blanks!  Are you out of your mind? :jaw-drop:

I still have hopes of putting them together and using them.  They'll just have to squeeze in between archery and shooting.

I've got one 9' steelhead Seeker rod that I want to put a Robert's wrap on and see how it'll throw light anchovies or jigs for shore or breakwater fishing.  I like conventional reels but that long of a rod full of guides on a regular wrap will kill the action.

But thanks for the offer :smile-big-blue:

huntducks

Reaction score
SDHNTR

If your intersited I can tell you where you can get Garcia blanks, cork, hyplon, and guides,(fresh & salt) and not one or two, but by the gross all older Garcia Conlon stuff, matter of fact I have maybe 500 surf rod blanks, I have been using a few for tomateo & decoy steaks, but would let go a few if you want.

(Edited by huntducks at 4:50 pm on Feb. 23, 2002)

Grey Taylor

Reaction score
Tomatoe stakes?!  I don't care if they are just Garcias, you should be keelhauled!

What a thing to do to a rod blank... :surprised-purple:

huntducks