ToddP

Banned
Banned
Joined
Mar 13, 2001
Messages
2,202
Reaction score
0
Can you still use the Olympus D-370 like a regular camera after you open it up and wire it?

Thanks,
Todd
 

MCinIL

Inactive
Joined
Feb 2, 2002
Messages
1,236
Reaction score
0
Todd, I'm not positive but from the diagram I saw you could. You onlu add three wires like the owl three wire setup. You change nothing internally. Others may correct me on this. That is one reason I'm modifying mine tonight. MC.
 

coyotebandit

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 23, 2002
Messages
1,892
Reaction score
0
ToddP,
Mine is still very usable after wiring! All your doing is adding another shutter button in parallel to the original, so when you unplug the camera, it's like it was never there. Pretty much just like the 3-wire OWL PF setup.
 

passgas55

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 25, 2001
Messages
270
Reaction score
0
I am thinking of using the 370 for my next cam but my ? is- Why can't you just turn the cam on just before taking a pic instead of a refresh every 2.5 hrs. This will save on your batts. Or is it a long delay on time using a 32 meg card?(how long is it any way?) Thanks
 

Hill Hopper

Banned
Banned
Joined
Mar 10, 2002
Messages
1,570
Reaction score
0
Passgas, I believe there are several reasons, and will outline here

1) The D-370 has a power saver board which will normally allow the camera to operate for around a week on a standard set of batterys already. The added wireing and hassel are'nt required

2) The shut off/ turn on is much slower, especially with larger cards. By having the cam stay on, its much faster.

3) A standard 35mm hookup will work with the camera

These are the ones I can think of at the moment, however there could be others some of the members might be able to identify.
 

ArkansasElkHunter

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 19, 2002
Messages
1,748
Reaction score
0
Passgas,

HH is right but if you have an area where the cam may need to be out for several weeks, you can do one of two things.   Add an auxillery battery pack through the AC power port on the cam or use Brians digital chip.   It is designed to turn the camera on when motion is detected.  It also has several "start-up" times for different CF cards. longer for larger etc.
 

Hill Hopper

Banned
Banned
Joined
Mar 10, 2002
Messages
1,570
Reaction score
0
If you like double pic mode, and are going to leave it very long, a 64 meg card  and battery pack would be real helpful like AEH was talking about
 

vman

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 30, 2002
Messages
643
Reaction score
0
Well bought my d-370 today.  Also went to radio shack to find an ac adapter.  What I found a item called an adaptaplug.  RS # 273-1714.  Now I just have to make sure I get the pol right.  Hows this,,The inside is + the outside is -.   Is this correct?  
 

shrtcirkt

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 22, 2001
Messages
328
Reaction score
0
VMAN,
your correct, the center pin is the positive. This can be verified by looking at the stamping right next to to ac adapter port on the camera. It shows pin polarity and molded right into the case
 

vman

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 30, 2002
Messages
643
Reaction score
0
shrtcikt,
Thanks I'm going to play around with this tonight.  
 
Top Bottom