D-370 with slave flash

vman

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 30, 2002
Messages
643
Reaction score
0
Well with db's, Brians, and Jon5ja's help I have finished my first digital setup.  Thanks guys.:smiley-thumbs-up:  Take a look at some of the pics.  Its headed for the woods now.

digital setup

(Edited by vman at 5:26 pm on July 19, 2002)
 

Jon5ja

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 6, 2002
Messages
722
Reaction score
0
Vman,

I get an "image not found" message when I try to follow the link.  Same when following the link in your earlier post about the slave flash.
 

Jon5ja

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 6, 2002
Messages
722
Reaction score
0
Good job!

Is the chip turning the flash on when it decides it needs to take a pic, and then turning it back off afterwards?
 

vman

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 30, 2002
Messages
643
Reaction score
0
Thanks,
no the flash has power at all times.  is the chip supposed to do that?


(Edited by vman at 8:44 am on July 20, 2002)
 

Dobler

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 27, 2002
Messages
50
Reaction score
0
I just picked up a 370 and will be using Brians board with the integrated PIR.  Where did you get your slave flash board at as well as how to make it.  I am an amateur and would like to build a slave flash unit also.  Any help would be appreciated.
 

kmitch

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 11, 2001
Messages
429
Reaction score
0
I'd like to understand where the development of a slave flash is at present. The last post I remember, the idle current on the Vivitar (approx $20 at WalMart) was about 100 ma. which would be a real battery killer. I would like to build some to use as a remote mounted fill flash for my film cams but can't imaging lugging enough batteries for that size drain. This time of year I leave cams out for a month at a time. Are we using one of the programable chips to turn the flash on and off?

Keith
 

vman

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 30, 2002
Messages
643
Reaction score
0
Dobler,
I etched the circuit using the kit from Radio shack.  Jon5ja has posted a circuit for the D-370 to drive the slave flash.

Kmitch,
Currently I don't have the slave turing on and off when needed.  Probably need to try something like Db  did with his.  Using a relay from the pir to turn the flash on and off when needed.  Or possibly using the same trigger for the cam from brians chip to close a relay to turn the flash on.  I would think that the slave would be powered up by the time the cam took the picture.  I am going to buy another flash when I get back to town and open it up and expirement with it.  
 
Top Bottom