D-6 NEARS HIGHLAND LAKES ANY HELP????

lxtrail

Reaction score
HEY THERE FELLA'S I AM NEW HERE AND I AM NEW TO THE NOTHERN CA AREA. I AM GOING TO BE CAMPING AT THE HIGHLAND LAKES AREA COME OPENING DAY FOR RIFLE. THIS WILL BE MY FIRST MULE DEER HUNT SO IF ANYONE HAS ANY INFO ON THE AREA AND MAYBE A HINT OR TWO I WOULD BE VERY GREATFUL. IF ANYONE HAS HUNTED THIS AREA OR JUST BEEN UP THERE IN THE LAST FEW YEARS AND CAN TELL ME WHAT TO EXPECT. I AM NOT WORRIED ABOUT THE HIKING. ''WHAT DOESNT KILL YOU ONLY MAKES YOU STRONGER"

Attachments

Backcountry

Reaction score
First off, even though it's not required you might want to wear some blaze, because you're going to see a lot of other hunters up there (and I mean a lot, like hundreds). The DFG’s information packet about D6 reads;

Access to most public lands within Zone D-6 is very good. Major access routes are along Highways 4, 108, 120 and 140. On opening weekend, most of the areas accessed by roads are popular with hunters and it is difficult to find solitude, due to the concentration of hunters near these access roads. However, hunting pressure drops off significantly until storms occur, usually in mid to late-October.