D14, let's hear it

spectr17

Administrator
Admin
Reaction score
Westy and I found a nice buck last year but never got a shot near Big Bear. Booklet shows 115 bucks taken last year. 2 pointers, 56.5%, 3 pointers 26.1%, 4 pointers 13.9%, better than a 4 point 2.6%.

With all the fire areas bouncin back and some rain this spring it should be a good fall????

What ya seein?

desertracer

Reaction score
I'm a newb so I'm not going to pretend I know what the hunting conditions are going to be this fall...but I don't recall having much rain in the last few months. I think we'll be lucky if a huge fire doesn't close the forest all together this year. The vegetation went from a healthy green to brown in a just a couple weeks...that was about 6 weeks ago. I cruised through the fire damaged area between Pilot Rock and Lake Arrowhead about 5 weeks ago and the ground was bare. I didn't notice much new growth.

So does it get really crowded up there on opening day? I've got my sights on a rather remote area where I'm guessing doesn't get much pressure. I don't know what potential it has to hold deer...but it is remote and I'm thinking that's the key to finding deer around here.

I know the success rate in D14 is bad, especially for a new hunter, but I can't wait to just spend some time in the woods in which I grew up...just never hunted.

LKN4HOG

Reaction score
Hay Jesse...fishing for a new area? LOL-LOL-LOL

I have seen quite a few actually while doing some yote calling. It was the time when they have no antlers so it is hard to tell what they were....except being deer. The law of averages would have to say that some were bucks. I will be going to where I saw a lot during my bear hunting spots of last year also. I did not have a D-14 tag last year but I will this year. I saw enough to warrant that.

Both locations are near water sources. When it gets a little closer, before bow season, lets do a little scouting trip and I will show you mine if you show me yours.....