d395 question

Stever

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 14, 2001
Messages
291
Reaction score
0
I have a d395 and pixcontroller board. I hooked up a d390 and it worked fine.

Here is what d395 is doing
hook it up turn power onto board and board lights up goes through wait state.
When I set off the pir the camera does not power up.

If I touch two power up wires together the camera fires up and takes a picture upon pir being set off
Thinking there was a problem with plug for power up I put a new plug on end.
No luck, I swapped out boards no luck. It worked for a d390 what would be differant on a d395
HELPPPPP>
 

Haymaker

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 6, 2002
Messages
2,586
Reaction score
5
Stever,

I believe you emailed me about this?

It's got to be a wiring issue with the camera.

Have you taken the camera apart yet?
 

dmach8

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 3, 2004
Messages
944
Reaction score
0
You have the door open most of the way? What pix board? I have one of these and it works fine in testing (It's a slower fire to the pic then needed for a trail unless you can pause the animal), but we could compare to make sure the same. Also I took the slide door off the camera, it stays powered off, and gave me a better seal with lense and flash and didn't have to worry about getting opened just right.
 

Stever

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 14, 2001
Messages
291
Reaction score
0
The door is not open all the way left back 1/8" if it is opened all the way camera stays on.

The camera has been apart say ahhh 15 times now.

Here is what is happening.
This for rsp board and 3rsi chip

1) wired the two power wires to the spots inside front cover of the camera
led the wires out through the tripod holes.
2)connect the j2(cam power up and down plug)
3)connect the j1 plug (with 2 wires)
4)connect the j4 plug to 4 aa battery holder turn on. Green and red turn on
then green turns off 40 dec later red turns off.
5)I set off pir by waving hand in front, green light comes on and so does
red, camera does not power up.

6)If I then touch two wires on j2 together, camera comes up. when I wave my
hand in front camera engages and take the photo.

Am I missing something or what?
I have swapped out with 2 boards and 2 -j2 wire jumpers same results each
time.
 

dmach8

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 3, 2004
Messages
944
Reaction score
0
First thing I notice is that i used the rsp with (RSP4i PIC Chip).
Not sure on your wiring, but this what i got from the pdf file.
The 3 wire plug go to shutter and refresh, Black not used
Then the power goes to the 2 wire flash plug..
GL, Steve
 

Stever

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 14, 2001
Messages
291
Reaction score
0
Dmach, I thought about that as well, it is the only differance. Bill from Pixcontroller had ruled that out in an email to me earlier, but hey at this point the best alternative might be to get a 4si board to try it.
 

Stever

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 14, 2001
Messages
291
Reaction score
0
just ordered the RSP4i chip

Will let you know, thanks for the help
 
Top Bottom