DPDT switch

Brandon

New member
Joined
Jan 25, 2002
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
I solder the dpdt switch like the pic. show. I led works good and when i turn the switch the other way the cam. takes a pic..i waved my hand in front of the sencer to see if it would take another pic. and it dosen't. I took the dpdt switch out and solder the led to the speaker wires and the 2 wires form the reed to a 1/8 3.5mm phone jack and it dose the same thing. what did i do wrong? could you please help me. Thanks Brandon
 



Tinhorn

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 13, 2001
Messages
3,516
Reaction score
0
Hi Brandon,  welcome to the forum  !  !  !

Can you give us some more information?

If you connect the wires coming from the camera together several times, does it take a pix every time?

Need to know more,  or maybe you can lay your wiring setup (the PIR) on the scanner and post a pix of it here so we can see what's what

Tinhorn
 

Brandon

New member
Joined
Jan 25, 2002
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
if you tuch the wires together on and off the cam takes a pic, but doaen't advance the film for the next pic. Thanks for replying
 

wfontjr

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 11, 2001
Messages
189
Reaction score
0
ok if no film is the camera it will usually advance with the first pict, but not afterwards,

the switch problem, if the you take the camera and touch the two wires together for a second or two you should get one picture, if you connect the wires to a switch or rca plug or any other connection and you get a pict its just like touching the wires together, you can have a short in the rca plug, you can have the wires on the wrong lugs on the switches, somehow someway you are closing the camera switch, check for continuity with the switch in the off/ on position, you should only have it in the on
 

Brandon

New member
Joined
Jan 25, 2002
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
I'v gotten the cam to tack a pic but now when the switch is in chime the cam takes pics on it's own, and in alarmit takes a pic around every 5 to 10 seconds? all contack are good and all switches are good. When you turn the dpdt switch from walk test to the cam the cam takes a pic and then depending on what mode its in it does the aboved.

(Edited by Brandon at 3:13 pm on Jan. 27, 2002)
 

Alberta

Member
Joined
Jul 9, 2002
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Any downsides to using a DPDT switch instead of a SPST switch for the game camera?  As well, when using the 3-conductor plug and jack method, in order to keep the functionality of the auto focus, it was recommended that the lines be jumpered on the relay side instead of on the camera board.  The particular 3-conductor plug that I have on the relay side is difficult to solder to, would it work to use a 2-conductor plug instead,(would the 2-conductor plug function as a jumper?)   The parts which I am using for the game camera is the Canon Sure Shot Owl PF, and the 49-425 motion detector.
 

MCinIL

Inactive
Joined
Feb 2, 2002
Messages
1,236
Reaction score
0
Welcome to the forum Alberta. Yes you can do that. I used the same combination on mine. Just make sure with an ohm meter that the two wires short together that you want. Good luck with your cam. MC.
 

quackmaster

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 12, 2001
Messages
175
Reaction score
0
DPDT just gives you the ability to switch between the cam and an LED with a single switch.
3 pole stereo plug comes in handy, but not necessary.
with a 3 pole plug,  I jumper them together at the 5v relay
 


Top Bottom