Drew Desert Bighorn in the White Mountains

71fan

I drew a Desert Bighorn this year, and the hunt is two months away! Talk about scrabbling around to prepare for a once-in-a-lifetime...

Everyone always says "I can't believe I finally drew it," and that's what I'm saying. Living and hunting in CA causes one to lose any hope of drawing these special tags. But I had max points, and I studied the odds and the quotas, and of course, someone has to draw so it may as well have been me. Yee-haw!!

I've already spoken with two guides and the biologist and they've convinced my that a DIY is probably not a good idea (yeah, I know it is a self serving recommendation for the guides). The last three hunters that went without a guide did not take sheep. The guides have had close to 100% success in the Whites. That's very compelling.

This will be my first sheep hunt. Any words of wisdom are certainly welcome and appreciated.

Interestingly, this was my lucky year, as I also drew a Big Valley Buck Antelope tag (rifle). The seasons open on the same day, go figure. I'll figure it out though. It's going to be a GREAT year.

lionking

Congrats on the tag! I am a DIY all the way, but contemplating hiring a guide. My sheep hunting skills are O and I have never set foot in my unit. Please share any info before and after your hunt.
Good Luck!

71fan

Congtats!!!!! I would b going bonkers
Yep. It's extremely hard to concentrate at work. All I can think about all day long is studying maps, planning for scouting, range time, getting in sheep shape, gear, etc., etc. There's very little time for actual work, while at work.

71fan

Congrats on the tag! I am a DIY all the way, but contemplating hiring a guide. My sheep hunting skills are O and I have never set foot in my unit. Please share any info before and after your hunt.
Good Luck!