DU Announces Winners of 2008 Wetland Conservation Achievement Awards


Mar 11, 2001
Reaction score
Ducks Unlimited Announces Winners of 2008 Wetland Conservation Achievement Awards


Phoenix, AZ – Ducks Unlimited announced the winners of the 2008 Wetland Conservation Achievement Awards at the 73rd annual North American Wildlife and Natural Resources Conference in Phoenix, Arizona.

DU’s Wetland Conservation Achievement Awards recognize individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the restoration and conservation of North America’s wetlands and waterfowl. The awards are presented in six categories.

This year’s winners are:
Catetgory Winner
Federal Representative U.S. Senator Herb Kohl, Wisconsin
Federal Agency

Dan J. Nieman, population management biologist, Canadian Wildlife Service
State/Provincial Steven V. Rockwood, wetland habitat specialist, Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission
Research/Technical Dr. Guy Baldassarre, distinguished professor, State University of New York, College of Environmental Science and Forestry
Conservation/Private Citizen Adolphus A. Busch IV, chairman of the board, Great Rivers Habitat Alliance
Communications Joe Albea, co-host, “Carolina Outdoor Journal”

Don Young, DU’s executive vice president, presented the awards.

“These individuals have each had a tremendous impact on North America’s waterfowl habitat,” said Young. “Because of them, habitat exists today that otherwise may not. DU is proud to recognize their contributions, and hope their personal achievements inspire others to engage in conservation.”

For more information on the recipients of DU’s Wetland Conservation Achievement Awards, go to www.ducks.org/wetlandawards

Media Contact:
Laura Houseal, (901) 758-3764, lhouseal@ducks.org

Latest Posts

Top Bottom