everybody with bobcat pics

Ray

Reaction score
We've got a project going to monitor bobcat populations on NC State property using homebrew cams.  I'd like to hear from all you folks who have found cats with your cameras.  Any set up tips would be a great help.    

What was your site like, was there bait of any kind, what other critters showed up, how long was the cam on that spot before the cat showed up, what direction was the cam facing, was it looking over a trail or road, time of year, etc....?

We've been putting the cameras facing dirt roads and paths bordering brushy fields and clearings.  For bait we're using bobcat pee and feathers dangling on a string.  No bobcats yet, but lots of deer, dogs, and feral housecats.  

Thanks a bunch,
Ray Bode
NCSU - Forestry

Passthru

Banned
Reaction score
 I know a guy who traps many bobcat every year,he puts his trap line out near Bluffs on the river.Cats like places like that,but im no expert on cat behavior.

Arrowhead

Reaction score
Ray >> Where are you doing you monitoring? Hill Forest?

I have cams out near Efland, NC I have only gotten one Bobcat pic this year so far. We have a 300 acre tract that was clear cut 4 years ago. The only place I ever see them is around the old road beds, a couple of the old limb piles.
Scat is very evident in a couple places. I wanted to put out a turkey decoy and see if I could get pic's of a cat attacking one. With hunting season going on I just haven't made the time, but will one of these days.

Good Luck.

Tinhorn

Reaction score
If there are "Hog Wire" fences in the area that you can cut small holes in, about a foot in dia or so,  Bobcats, and other predators or lazy and like to walk thru them.  A good place is at a Corner....

Be sure the fence line now uses barb wire, etc before cutting holes in somebodies fence - check with the land owner.  Lots of farms now have added strands of barbwire to the old hog wire fences in our area