Feather and Sac river for upland.

Deserthunter1

Reaction score
Hey all,
I have been checking out this forum for some time, usually in the fall and decided to join. Good info, thank you.
Anyone run the Sac river up to Fremont weir or the Feather to Star bend? Quail, Dove, Turkey, and maybe a Pheasant..lol. A lot of the cover where I find the birds is loaded with poison oak and thick briar patches. Terrain is difficult at times whether you are on top hunting birds or anchoring the sled on the bank and climbing up. Birds are hard to find when you fold them in a briar patch, Not intentionally. Sucks!
I have been hitting this run on and off for the last 30 years and although the bird count is not what it used to be its well worth the effort. I am currently running a small red lab and she's not real strong on quail, rocks better in the waterfowl area.
Anyway I usually have 1 to 2 seats open in the sled and if anyone is interested in joining me that would be great. Preferably someone with a dog who loves quail, I plan on going this Saturday. Also run the Colusa to Chico area sometimes. I run a 17' Alumiweld center console sled with a 115hp Yama ob jet, flies with 3 guys and dogs, gear, etc. full camo wrap.

Thanks,

Frank

WassawBound

Reaction score
Hey all,
I have been checking out this forum for some time, usually in the fall and decided to join. Good info, thank you.
Anyone run the Sac river up to Fremont weir or the Feather to Star bend? Quail, Dove, Turkey, and maybe a Pheasant..lol. A lot of the cover where I find the birds is loaded with poison oak and thick briar patches. Terrain is difficult at times whether you are on top hunting birds or anchoring the sled on the bank and climbing up. Birds are hard to find when you fold them in a briar patch, Not intentionally. Sucks!