Finally!

flintknapper

Reaction score
First of all, thanks to all on this page who shared their knowledge of camera building. I was able to successfully build one that takes better pictures than the commercial ones...with no previous electrical experience!

This past week my camera came through for me big. Even though I had previously taken pictures of nice bucks(one of which I got during bow season), I had never gotten a picture of an old elusive buck that I have been hunting for 3 years.

I first saw him in 1999 during the January rut here in Alabama. He was in a thickly wooded ravine. I passed up on a shot at the big 10pter(the most massive deer I'd ever seen) because I didn't want to risk a bad shot in the brush. That was one of my first hunts on this land, that is why I didn't see him earlier.

I did not see him again that season, but I did learn his trails. I found one of his sheds the next fall from his 99 rack.

The next year I tried to get him with my bow on opening morning of gun season. I watched him for nearly an hour as he cautiously and slowly walked straight at me for 200 yards. He got within 60 yards and veered off. I heard a shot later that morning and thought that he might have been killed. I did not see him again that season. His trails and scrapes were mostly unused until the last week of the 2000-2001 season when I found some fresh tracks that I thought might be his.

I found what was left of his other 1999-2000 shed last summer. I started putting out a camera on a food plot near his area. He never came to it. I still had hope though.

Well, I put the camera back in his old area on a scrapeline a couple of days before Christmas. Christmas Eve, at 8pm, I got a camera shot of something. I almost thought it was a false shot.
Well, in the corner of the picture is a left main beam that is amazingly similar to the shed of the big buck.