First duck call please help with some advice

jhill528

Reaction score
So my Birthday is coming up and my wife keeps asking what I want. Having just located a new place to go duck hunting less than five miles from my house and a very generous offer from another JH member to help get me started with my decoys, it looks like I'll be doing a lot more duck hunting. Locally there are quite a few mallards, teals and gadwell. I have never used a duck call before so I need some advice to find a couple key calls that are user friendly and should be in any duck hunters bag? Please help, any and all advice will be greatly appreciatted. Thanks.

Johnathon

Duck Fan

Reaction score
RE: duck calling. My first comment would be to master the whistle. Get a Wingsetter 8 in 1 call – whistle, or maybe even better – go with a something like a Primos high roller flutter whistle. The roller ball style does the pintail for you easier…since you have to flutter your tongue to get the pintail call right on the others. The roller ball style call does that ‘flutter’ for you.

That one call is used for drake mallard, teal, widgeon, and pintail…plus others. It is easy to master and simple to use.

They come with instructions and just follow them and you are good.

As far as mallard calling….That does take time. You can go online and view video of guys that can help you on the call, but it will take a lot of time and patience. It is good to start with the single hen quack. If you get that, then step up to a few quacks strung together. But, if you are not confident with it, don’t use it. Practice, practice, practice on the mallard call.

Do a search on videos for mallard duck calling by RNT calls - probably has several out there.

matt392

Reaction score