First Guided Pig Hunt

NatureDriven

Reaction score
As many of you know, I've been hunting the Tejon with out a guide for about the past 6 years with a great deal of success. Well, recently one of the owners of the company I work for invited me on a guided boar hunt with a group of 12. Having never been on any type of guided hunt, I thought it would be a great opportunity for me to see how a "professional" hunts pigs. My boss and I, Frank, got to the Paso Robles Inn early in the afternoon on Friday. The first hunt was scheduled to begin at 5pm. Half of my group decided to go out that night, including Frank and I, and the other half chose to hang out and start drinking. A son of the professional guide took Frank and a partner of the guide, Jim, took me out.

As Jim and I are driving along a ridge, we spotted a boar sleeping under a tree on the other side of the valley at eye level, about 300 yds out.

Getting out of the truck, Jim asked if I felt comfortable with that long of a shot. I told him the longest shot I’d ever attempted was 190 yds and that shot hit the pig behind the ear and dropped it in its tracks. Shooting a .300WSM he said he felt comfortable with me taking the shot. (Had I been doing this hunt on my own I would have crossed the valley and closed the gap as mush as possible since that's part of the fun for me). I set up my shooting sticks and settled into position. As I was looking at the pig through my scope, I could only see the top half of him as he lay in his bed. I couldn't help it, but I wasn't feeling very comfortable about taking the shot, not only because of the amount of pig showing, but more because I felt as though I was about to shoot a duck sitting on water; something I was taught never to do.