First weekend with the FJ...

Rnovi

Reaction score
(August 6th, 2006. Odometer reading, start of day: 467.)

Well, the wife and I had a free Sunday so we decided to see if the new FJ is really all it's cracked up to be.

First off, please understand the following. My previous off-road vehicle was my wife's Toyota Rav 4, 2WD stick model. I took that thing places...places she just doesn't need to know about. I also need to note that I have no experience driving a 4WD vehicle at all. So take this as a grain of salt. This is a noobies view of driving a 4WD vehicle for the first time.

First thought: damn, what a rig! HUGELY confidence inspiring.

We went out to the backroads of Big Bear, between Lancaster and Fawnskin (hey, I don't make these names up!) and ultimately down to Crab Flat Campground. Around 60 miles of dirt roads, some worse than others. We ran most of it in normal 4WD Hi and about 10 miles of it in 4WD Lo. I dropped into low gear and hit the "ASC" buttun when we saw this seriously steep road in front of us. I held off the rear locker as a "get out of jail free card"...but I figured that if I really needed it I would probably be falling backwards and rolling the rig. I slipped the auto trans into "first gear" and left it there. No point in shifting while climbing (I'm guessing here - it was hardpack and pretty decently rutted out.)

Inclinometer read 24 degrees of slope.

FJ trudged right up it in low gear at 3,000 rpms and around 4-5mph (?) or so. Right up a 200 yard climb. Never slipped a single tire and never, ever once felt like it was in trouble. I left it in lo at that point to do some downhill stuff on the back of the same hill - never had to touch the brakes. Engine braking kept the rig at an even 4mph turning around 2k rpms.

We ran along another road for 6-700 yards, wondering why it was so out of shape... it wasn't a road is why. It was a wash. I got a really good laugh out of it.