Got a new 30-.06 tonight

FoCoHugh

JHO Team Member
Reaction score
Went to the gun show in Loveland, CO today. Got a Mossberg 30.06 bolt action with a 3x9 scope. The scope has no name on it, but it is identical to my Bushnell on my Springfield 1903, which is now up for sale.

Very excited. Love my wife.

eoats

Reaction score
Been shopping around for a 30-06 also. What sold you on the Mossberg?
My list has the Savage (not the Axis), Marlin x7 & Weatherby Vanguard on it right now.

FoCoHugh

JHO Team Member
Reaction score
My 1903 has some barrel flex issues. Like me, it is old, so these things happen. I have a Mossberg shotgun and LOVE it, so I trusted the name. Also, as a teacher, I am not dripping in money, so the price point was good.

I know that there are more sought after brands, but the check book said "no".

Rob P.

Reaction score
Been shopping around for a 30-06 also. What sold you on the Mossberg?
My list has the Savage (not the Axis), Marlin x7 & Weatherby Vanguard on it right now.
*Cough* *Cough* Buy the Weatherby *Cough*

Last edited:

BelchFire

I speak fluent Vise-Grip
Admin
Reaction score
The Vanguard is Weatherby's low end rifle. It's made by Howa. You might be surprised how cheap it is to own a Weatherby if you buy a Vanguard.

map

Reaction score
I purchased Savage 110P during 1968, and had to make do with that cheap rifle for my entire life. Make sure that you start off with the best rifle that you can afford, because after raising kid and all, I was lucky to have gas money.

Sent from my iPhone/Tapatalk

eoats

Reaction score
Funny thing, I was handling a Savage in a shop & it sure felt good. Action smoother than any other he had, including the Vangaurd....
Nice package deal with a Nikon scope too.

But it was a 308 & I kinda have my mind set on a 30-06.

map

Reaction score
Funny thing, I was handling a Savage in a shop & it sure felt good. Action smoother than any other he had, including the Vangaurd....