GPS Devices for Private and Public properties

OPAH

Banned
Reaction score
What Is the best GPS device that you can get without breaking the bank that shows private and public lands?

2dogs1name

Reaction score
OnXhunt app for your phone...$35 a year...detailed borders and tells you who owns the private land...you can map coordinates ahead of time if you have a bad connection.

OPAH

Banned
Reaction score
That sounds great, anyone else use this? Found onXmaps for hunts is that it?

Last edited:

CaliforniaKid

Reaction score
I use OnXMaps for my Garmin and it's awesome. I've been using them for many years now. They update their maps often, too, whereas some of the other services may only update once per year. Updates new private and public land areas.

Bubblehide

Banned
Reaction score
OPAH, I was using the OnXmaps mini SD card in my GPS on the little pig jaunt we took. Just keep in mind that if you go the SD card route, you will need to update it from time to time.

Where's Bruce?

Reaction score
Use huntinggpsmaps with the tracking enabled to prove you didn't "stray" onto anyone's private turf.

OPAH

Banned
Reaction score
OK looks Like OnXMaps Is the route to go with Garmin or a smart phone.
thank you guys

MariotheBarber

Reaction score
I don't wanna hijack your thread Opah, but anyone have any experiance with those so called Back-track GPS devices? I've seen them for sale for around 80 bucks, figure they could come in handy, especially when hunting alone.

Where's Bruce?

Reaction score
I don't wanna hijack your thread Opah, but anyone have any experiance with those so called Back-track GPS devices? I've seen them for sale for around 80 bucks, figure they could come in handy, especially when hunting alone.
They are crap. They point you in the direction you originated from, not the route you took. Might be okay in a parking lot to find your vehicle or on flat open areas but on broken ground in the backcountry they are pretty useless.

Last edited:

TheGDog