How heavy of an arrow?

BoandME

Reaction score
I just got a Bear Super Kodiak at 55# and I am new to traditional archery and I was wondering how heavy of an arrow I should go with. I have hear just add a zero to the end of the poundage and that is how heavy your arrow should weight. I don't know if anyones else goes by that or not?
Also maybe you guys could let me know what your arrow set up is. I would like to shoot carbons preferably eastons. Thanks for any advice.

PowDuck

Reaction score
Welcome to the traditional bug. Hmmm - add a zero. hadn't thought of it that way. 9-12gr/lb is a good weight IMO. I can't help you with the carbons. I shoot 30" 2018 Easton Legacys with full length glue in inserts and Zwickey Eskimo broadheads. I have a CheckMate 55lb Crusader longbow and an Arkansas Stick 50lb Caddo longbow. They shoot well out of both bows.

You mentioned you were new to trad archery BUT have you been shooting compounds?

BoandME

Reaction score
Yeah I have a hoyt ultrasport that I love shooting but I just wanted to start shooting a recurve also. I can't wait to start shooting I think it is going to be a blast.

Judson

Reaction score
If you re not shooting a Penobscot bow figure around ten grains of arrow weight for each pound of draw weight. With the Penobscot bows figure around 15 grains per pound of draw weight.

SDsmokingun

Reaction score
what about 7 grains per pound i shoot 350 grain arrows out of my 50 pound grizzly is that bad?

PowDuck

Reaction score
7gr/lb seems a little light to me but how do they shoot? Heavier should be quieter though.

SDsmokingun

Reaction score
super fast but a lil loud was just wondering if its bad for the bow?

wtpops

Reaction score