how many lion have you seen out and about

lxtrail

Reaction score
saw that this was brought up in another thread and thought i would see how many of you out in the field, driving, fishing whatever have actually seen mountain kitties, in there cute glory. me personnally i have seen three and they were all up north of bridgeport and they were 3 different lion within 7 miles of each other. two driving one on the marine base and another near sonora pass and fishing the west walker river. I know they see us more than we see them so lets hear your accounts

buckfever07

Reaction score
I've been hunting and fishing southern California for over 25 years and i still haven't seen one yet.

barel74

Reaction score
I've seen maybe 6, over the years. I know some people in the area, who work/live on big ranches that see up to 5 a year.

lxtrail

Reaction score
i forgot about the 2 back in high school that we treed, up near tehachapi, back when i could run all over mountains all day long. it was on the 25K acre ranch i worked on. good times

Hitechhunter

Reaction score
My soon to be ex wife had to stop in the road about a mile from our house as FOUR of them crossed in front of her in broad daylight. I kept a closer eye on my kids playing in the yard after that.

DEERSLAM

Reaction score
I was on a 7 day Mule deer hunt in ID back in '98. Saw 6, yes 6, lions on that hunt! Even had a BIG cat fight in the dark timber below me one morning. Very scary

2rocky

Reaction score
Saw a cougar chasing a coyote in North Idaho in 1993. Only one I've seen in the wilds.

Speckmisser

Reaction score
I've seen three so far, all here in CA. One in Coalinga, one in "Kokopelli Valley", and one in Sonoma.

Heard one yowling (in heat, I think) up in Tehama also, but never could get a look at it.

Got plenty of tracks here in Garin Park (Hayward), but haven't been able to get an eyeball on the critter yet. Probably the same one that came down in Mission Peak and got on TV last year.

DanV