how many pillow cases?

.300Savage

Reaction score
So im headed to B4 this year due to some scheduling conflicts with all but opening weekend of general b-zones so I figure my chances of filling my bear tag this year are probably better then ever. so how many pillow cases do i need to pack out the monster boar im gunna shoot? and when i fold up the cape do i fold the fur in or out?

goindeep

Banned
Reaction score
Better to have too many than not enough. I've packed out elk in five good sized pillow cases. one each for the quarters and one more for back staps, tenderloins,neck meat and other misc. pieces. not too sure on rolling up the cape, the tanner or the taxidermist will clean it up for you thats their job. can't help getting that grease all over.

barel74

Reaction score
I'm no expert, but I folded cape in half, hair out, then rolled it up, tied it to my pack. Then put it in a garbage bag(to keep it dry) in the ice chest. Taxidermist said it came out fine. I think the meat would've fit into 3 normal pillow cases.

.300Savage

Reaction score
barel are you talken about the brute in your avatar? what was the weight on that toad if you know that is?

CATManReid

Reaction score
Both bears that I've shot in the last two years, I've folded the hide skin to skin, and didn't have any problems. But, with that being said, I was able to freeze my hides within hours of cleaning the bear. Not sure how long I'd go without completely freezing it so the sooner the better for the furs sake.

.300Savage

Reaction score
it'll more than probly be at leats a day but, we'll see. i do have one of those extra giant 3 dead body sized ice chests so as long as we don't have to pack that far in i will probly take the meat/cape right to the truck.

CATManReid

Reaction score
I guess if you aren't able to freeze it keeping it cool would be a plus. Dry ice does wonders for those situations. My advice if you can't freeze it would be to keep it DRY and cool. Good luck!

.300Savage