I need some help.

TruShot

Reaction score
This is my first attempt at a game camera. I am using the Radio shack sensor and a poleroid 2400FF.
I have the camera wired correctly because I can jump the wires and it will take a pic. But I followed the directions and drawing for modifying the radio shack sensor and it wont trip my camera.  If I switch the double switch the test light flashes as I trip the sensor but it wont trip the camera. It seems like the relay might be stuck because when I connect the wires from the relay to the camera it trips but I think it is staying open.

Any help would be appreciated.  Thanks

gizz

Reaction score
You did get a N.O. (normally open) relay?

TruShot

Reaction score
I'll have to double check when I get home tonight, but I should have exact part number in the description on the how to modify the Radio shack sensor.

Steve Jo

Reaction score
Trushot, did you get a voltmeter?  Its not crucial at this stage but it is certaintly helpful in trouble shooting this stuff.

I test the relay with power off for resistance across the two wires that go to the camera.  they should be infinite, meaning a whole bunch of resistance.
When I power on, it goes through a test cycle in which the meter shows a fluctuating resistance, I dont know how much because it goes pretty fast, but It's safe to assume that if you see fluctuation that the relay is working.  Then one the test is done it goes back into an "Open" mode waiting for the PIR to trip, once the pir trips you get a readable fluctuation again, this fluctuation is the relay closing momentarrily and it will allow the camera to take its picture.