Iowa Crowns Youth Trap State Champions


Mar 11, 2001
Reaction score
Iowa Crowns Youth Trap State Champions


Teams Qualify for Upcoming National Championships

CEDAR FALLS, IOWA-Young trap shooters from across Iowa earned state titles-with many qualifying to represent Iowa at upcoming national championships-at last weekend's Scholastic Clay Target Program (SCTP) Iowa Trap State Championship.

The competition, held May 17 at Iowa State Trapshooting Association Homegrounds in Cedar Falls, featured some of Iowa's top young shooters in four divisions: varsity, junior varsity, intermediate advanced and intermediate entry.

SCTP, for youths in grades 12 and under, is a program of the National Shooting Sports Foundation managed in partnership with the national governing bodies for shooting sports: USA Shooting, Amateur Trapshooting Association, National Skeet Shooting Association and National Sporting Clays Association.

With remarkable growth over the past eight years, the program is considered "the Little League of shooting sports." Some 8,000 to 9,000 students from over 45 states are expected to compete this year.

Iowa teams participating in the state title shoot qualified for the SCTP National Championships July 31-Aug. 5 at the World Shooting and Recreational Complex in Sparta, Ill.

The best of these young shooters could be selected to attend an Olympic development camp in Colorado Springs, and some will go on to compete at the collegiate level.

For more information, visit


SCTP Iowa Trap State Championship
(held May 17, Iowa State Trapshooting Association Homegrounds, Cedar Falls, Iowa)

Varsity Division (grades 9 to 12)
1st Place-Nashua, 889 out of 1,000 targets (Jordan Feltz of Ionia, Tyler Hanawalt of Ionia, Taylor Bryant of Charles City, Suzanne Kueter of Charles City, Seth Stough of Charles City).
2nd Place-Roland Story Red, 880 (Brylee Anderson of Story City, Mark Gookin of Story City, Matt Youngman of Story City, Josh Conrad of Story City, Sawyer Hjortsvang of Stanhope).
3rd Place-Northwood, 874 (Ryan Mueller of Northwood, Aaron Hill of Manly, Brian Sime of Northwood, Justin Peerson of Kensett, Jacob Springer of Northwood).

Junior Varsity Division (grades 9 to 12)
1st Place-Panorama, 826 out of 1,000 targets (Ethan Sparks of Panora, Logan Christofferson of Panora, Sklar Meinecke of Panora, Cameron Hester of Panora, Brandon Harper of Panora).
2nd Place-Brooklyn BGM, 821 (Colton Hall of Brooklyn, Joseph Clayton of Brooklyn, Jared Kriegel of Brooklyn, Neal Kriegel of Malcolm, Shane Deimerly of Brooklyn).
3rd Place-Lynville-Sully, 811 (Nick Arthur of Searsboro, Zack McNaul of Grinnell, Nick Rozendaal of Searsboro, Jake DePenning of Sully, Nick Beyer of Sully).

Intermediate Advanced Division (grades 6 to 8)
1st Place-Des Moines Area Clay Crushers, 758 out of 1,000 targets (Will Thomas of Carlisle, Sam Mraz of West Des Moines, Brooke Vogel of Waukee, Matthew Delanoit of Grimes, Logan Lyon of Waukee).
2nd Place-AGWS, 729 (Zach Eiderts of Wellsburg, Carson Lutterman of Wellsburg, Cody Meyer of Wellsburg, Kollin Deberg of Ackley, Zach Lindaman of Wellsburg).
3rd Place-Not awarded.

Intermediate Entry Division (grades 6 to 8)
1st Place-Big Springs 2, 676 out of 1,000 targets (Kyle Terlouw of Sully, Bryanna Steele of Barnes City, Eric Osborn of Montezuma, Whitney Bair of Grinnell, Matthew Kriegel of Grinnell).
2nd Place-Oskaloosa Middle School, 664 (Nic DeJong of Oskaloosa, Brandon Sage of Oskaloosa, Stephen Shannon of Oskaloosa, Branden Strasser of Oskaloosa, Clay Monoit of Rose Hill).
3rd Place-Big Spring 1, 664 (Noah Brennan of Grinnell, Zachary Price of Montezuma, Cody Schwarck of Grinnell, Garret Van Mannen of Sully, Mitchell Frischmeyer of Grinnell).

Media Contact:
Ben Berka, SCTP Iowa State Director, at (515) 281-0140 or

Top Bottom