IR Sensor(If all else fails)

Archilochus

Reaction score
Hi all,
I read in the newsgroup sci.electronics.design a while back that this schematic had some technical flaw.  I didn't see anything that looked wrong with it, but I'm no pro.  Maybe they fixed it.  I've been using low-power 'home-made' PIR's for my cams that are a combination of this circuit and a circuit taken from LSI Computer Systems web-site.  Check the data sheet for part# LS6501LP.  -  http://www.lsicsi.com
That part actually works well, but requires a 9 volt supply.

Archilochus

BamaNative

Reaction score
Archilochus ,

Thanks for the link on that part.  I looked all over for a part like that and never found anything.  This should do the trick.  the circuit in the white paper look like it would work, although that means the timer control can still only take up to three minutes.  Is this a correct statement.  Are you adding a second stage to your delay timer.

Thanks again. Do you have any advice on the cheapest places to get these parts along with the PIR and fresnel lens.

Archilochus

Reaction score
Hi BamaNative,
Are you referring to a time duration between taking pictures so that your film isn't used up quickly on one subject?  If so, on page 2 of the data sheets you'll find "Table 1" which shows the specs for the "Output Duration Timer as a Function of Timer Control Input Voltage".  It shows output durations selectable from about 30 seconds to 30 minutes.  Use "NPO", "COG", or at least "X7R" temperature rated capacitors for this and any other timing circuits, otherwise as ambient temps change your timing can shift dramatically!.