kelpfish

rlwright

Reaction score
Anybody ever eat any kelpfish? How would you rate them compared with Halibut, sand Bass, perch, mackerel, or sculpin?

fowl Shooter

Reaction score
If you mean kelp greenling they are excellent white meated fish and they filet out better than lings and rockfish although smaller.

d trees

Reaction score
I have been told they taste like Iodine and you shouldnt eat them , Im not sure if they eat the kelp and thats why they taste that way or not but be careful,d

SDHNTR

Reaction score
Although I have no first hand experience eating them I worked on local boats for many years and I had the same understanding as dtrees.  We threw them back due to the iodine rumor.  I'd be curious to know if it is true.

Hogskin

Banned
Reaction score
I heard the same as d trees.  I've also heard them called "mother-in-law" fish because they're ugly and leave a bad taste in your mouth.  

Regards,
Paul

d trees

Reaction score
HAHAHAHA nice one paul !!!!!
maybe we should start a thread with fish that have AKA's
here's one Tree fish no not named after me AKA tammy faye baker bass or convict bass has a terrible gaudy lip stick mouth or stripes like a prison uniform,d

rlwright

Reaction score
That's what I figured, since they're easy to catch. They even look toxic

Mojave

Reaction score