Mandatory Boating Education Classes For 14-15

spectr17

Administrator
Admin
Joined
Mar 11, 2001
Messages
69,666
Reaction score
497
01/30/03

MANDATORY BOATING EDUCATION CLASSES FOR 14-15 YEAR OLDS SET

NE GPC

Lincoln, Neb. – Classes are now forming for 14- and 15-year-olds who must successfully complete a boating safety course before operating personal watercraft anywhere in the state, as required by LB176 passed in 2000 by the Nebraska Legislature.

Under authority of LB176, only people 16 years of age and older will be allowed to operate personal watercraft in Nebraska waters. The lone exception will be that a person 14 years of age or older who have not yet reached their sixteenth birthday may operate personal watercraft if he or she has satisfactorily completed a boating safety course approved by the Commission and has a valid boating safety certificate in his or her possession.

Under the new regulations it is also illegal for anyone to allow a person under 16 to lease, hire, rent or operate a personal watercraft unless that person is 14 years of age or older, has not yet reached their sixteenth birthday and has met the boating safety and certification requirement.

The Nebraska Boating Basics safety course will consist of a minimum of six formal classroom hours and be taught by instructors approved by the Commission. Students must score 70 percent or higher on the exam to be certified.

Nebraska will recognize the successful completion of boating safety courses certified in other states so that people 14-and 15-years-old may operate a personal watercraft in this state. The person must, however, provide proof of having successfully completed a certified boating safety course in another state. It is important to note that completion of the Home Study Boating Education Course does not fulfill personal watercraft education requirements for persons under 16 years.

Here are the latest additions to the growing list of Boating Education Classes scheduled across the state. For information regarding classes in other areas, contact your local Game and Parks Commission office or check on the Commission’s web site. Classes are forming and interested people are urged to register early to be sure they become certified prior to this year’s boating season.

Information about upcoming classes is available on the Boating page at Nebraska Game and Parks Commission’s Internet web site at www.outdoornebraska.org. Additional information will be posted as it is received, so check back often to learn about new classes forming in your area.

Currently scheduled classes include:

Four one-day classes set in Lincoln. The dates for those classes are Feb. 22, Mar. 1, Mar. 22, and April 12. Each of the classes will be 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. at the Sheriff’s Association Building, Nebraska State Fair Park, call Susan Hanlon at (402) 742-0394 to register. Fee: $10

March 3 and 4 -- 6 p.m.-9 p.m. -- Kearney

Meadowlark Hills Golf Course, call Joe Krepel at (308) 233-3610 to register. No registration fee.

March 8 -- 8:30 a.m.-4 p.m. – LaVista

May 17 -- 8:30 a.m.-4 p.m. – LaVista

Metropolitan Community College South Campus, Industrial Training Center, 9110 Giles Road, call Jeanie Deiml at (402) 331-2254. No registration fee.

Mar. 12, 13 - 6:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.- both sessions required for certification - Grand Island.

Mar. 29 - 9:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m. - Grand Island

Mar. 19, 20 - 6:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.- both sessions required for certification - Grand Island

Nebraska Law Enforcement Training Center, 3600 North Academy Road. To register contact Daryl Teter, 308-754-7829. No registration fee.

March 22 - 9:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m. - Valentine

Valentine Fish Hatchery, to register contact: Dana Miller, 402-376-3116. No registration fee.

March 22 -- 8:30 a.m. - 4 p.m. – Omaha

May 3 -- 8:30 a.m. - 4 p.m. – Omaha

June 7 -- 8:30 a.m. - 4 p.m. – Omaha

Metropolitan Community College South Campus, Industrial Training Center, 2909 Ed Babe Gomez Ave., call Jeanie Deiml at (402) 331-2254. No registration fee.

April 4 -- (1st session) 6 p.m.-9 p.m. and April 5 (2nd session) 9 a.m.-12 p.m. – Fremont

May 10 -- (1st session) 6 p.m.-9 p.m. and May 10 (2nd session) 9 a.m.-12 p.m. – Fremont

June 13 -- (1st session) 6 p.m.-9 p.m. and June 14 (2nd session) 9 a.m.-12 p.m. – Fremont

July 25 -- (1st session) 6 p.m.-9 p.m. and July 26 (2nd session) 9 a.m.-12 p.m. – Fremont

Parks and Recreation Community Room, 925 Broad Street, call Vicki at (402) 727-2810, students must attend both sessions to graduate. No registration fee.

April 12 -- 8:30 a.m. - 4 p.m. – Bellevue

Metropolitan Community College, Offutt Air Force Base, Base Lake Pavillion, call Jeanie Deiml at (402) 331-2254. No registration fee.

April 26 -- 8:30 a.m. - 4 p.m. – Elkhorn

May 31 -- 8:30 a.m. - 4 p.m. – Elkhorn

Metropolitan Community College, Elkhorn Valley Campus, 204 West Dodge Road, call Jeanie Deiml at (402) 331-2254. No registration fee.

May 17 - 9:00 a.m. - 3:30 p.m. - Kearney

June 24, 25 - 1:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m. - both sessions required for certification - Kearney Kearney Yamaha, 511 2nd Ave. South, to register contact: Daryl Teter, 308-754-7829. No registration fee. NOTE: Classes limited to 10 students

May 24 - 8:00 a.m. - 2:30 p.m. - Ogallala

June 28 - 8:00 a.m. - 2:30 p.m. - Ogallala

July 5 - 8:00 a.m. - 2:30 p.m. - Ogallala

Lake McConaughy Visitors Center, to register contact: Darlene Kastl, 402-471-5462, no registration fee.
 


Top Bottom