Meindl Boots

BrandonA

Reaction score
I've searched the previous topics and good some good information, but I'd like to delve a little deeper for you guys that have these boots.

Which version do you have and do you prefer one version over another? I personally have it narrowed down to Denali's or Perfekt 10's but I'm not sure which way I should go (if it even matters)... So would you guys mind throwing out your testimonials/opinions on the Meindl's you've worn before?

SDHNTR

Reaction score
Funny you mention those two. I have extensive experience with both. The Perfekts were the farthest thing from perfect for a hunting boot. Very comfortable, but the squeaked like mad. Both pairs I had squeaked. Cabelas was good about taking both pairs back even after they were well worn. I've since heard of numerous complaints of the same problem.

The Denalis are awesome. I love that boot. At first, if you are not used to the feel of a European style mountaineering/hiking boot, they might feel stiff. After you get used to them though, you will never go back to the typical Danner/Rocky type hunting boot. They are tennis shoe comfortable yet extremely supportive. I turned a buddy onto them and after a long steep gnarly sidehill he remarked that the amazing thing about this boot is that if your ankle starts to roll but the boot wont let it. The support of the boot pulls you right back up. It's great all the way around.

I'd also check out the Alaskan Hunter/Hiker too. Same concept.

Archer32

Reaction score
I have the Perfekt Hikers and love them. I found out about the squeak problem on my first elk hunt miles away from the truck. If you load the tongue of the boot up with Nikwax for suede it goes away. Thats the only draw back. Otherwise its the best boot I've owned for early season hunts. I also wear them daily. Ther run about a 1/2 smaller from what all of my other shoes are.