Mounting Lenses

whitetailfan

Reaction score
I am aware of the fact that 49mm "Skylight 1A Filter" glass is the best for the shutter window but does anyone have any suggestions on what kind of glass I need to use for the flash and counter windows. This is my first attempt at this so everyone's input would be greatly appreciated. Also, how should I mount the filter glass?? Do I remove the metal rim around and mount it flush or do I mount them on the outside of the box?? Sorry the questions seem so dumb but as I stated, this is my first attempt.

coyotebandit

Reaction score
I just use thin plexiglass for the flash and other "windows". I leave the glass in the metal ring, and cut the hole just large enough to fit the threads into. I also mount the glass on the inside, but it really doesn't matter. If you use plexiglass you can use hot glue, if you use glass, you'll need something better. Just make sure you seal everything up really good. Hope this helps.

bat

Reaction score
I use UV's on the shutter (lens), and regular glass or welders clear lens on the others..I drill holes with a hole saw for each, except the sensor (use drill bit for it).  I glue the UV on the outside with the ring attached.  All other glass goes inside except the counter, I put it on the outside.  2¢  Tip:  be careful using the 49mm it gets awful close to the Flash hole.  Make sure you position it right to give your self room to isolate the flash hole.  :sun-shining:

BigPete

Reaction score
Everyone here knows more than I do - so consider that when you read the following:  I grabbed an old picture frame and my glass cutter and cut the glass up into the "right sized" squares then RTV'ed them to the inside of the box.  Just developed my first role of film today and the pics are crystal clear.  Best of all, can't get any cheaper than free.  I noticed that discount stores sell 8x10" frames w/glass for about $2 - make a lot of boxes with one frame.

ArkansasElkHunter

Reaction score
Bigpete,