Mouth Calls

Eagle Eye

Reaction score
I'm fairly new at using mouth calls and have noticed some are better at making certain sounds than others.
For example, the one that gives me the best sounding yelps is hard to make purrs. The one that purrs the best makes lousy yelps.
So I guess what I'm asking is there advantages to using different reed configurations (single,double,triple)to make certain sounds?

spectr17

Administrator
Admin
Reaction score
EE,

You've probably also noticed some mouth calls have higher pitch then others and some are raspier than others. More cuts and layers of latex and they seem to get more raspier to me, which sounds like an older boss hen.

You can also try bending the frame to fit you mouth different to see if that helps in getting all the sounds you want. Make sure the frame is aluminum though, the plastic frames snap real easy.

I like stacked mouth calls because it seems like after a day or two my regular double latex calls stick together even if I put spacers in them at night and soak them in mouthwash. There's a thread down below on stacked calls if you want to read more about them or where to get them.

Possum

Reaction score