• The forum is now running on the Xenforo platform. The first time you log in here, you may have to reset your password by doing a password recovery. Your login info will be sent to the email you have listed on your account; please check your spam or junk folders if you don't see it in your inbox. If that address is invalid, obviously you won't get the email: In that case, use the contact form or the envelope icon at the top right of the header to send us your member name and a current valid email address.

Need help on getting started.

Im planing on getting started on casting for my 45-70 and id like for someone to help me. Im totally new to casting and id like to see if somone can give me a list on items i need to get started... I already have a melter and picked out which mold i want( not sure if aluminum or the iron is better?) but all the other things (mainly sizing and lubing) im clueless about and how to set up or do the process. I know its wrogn to say but im not one to read books..
but ill do what i have to..
Any help is greatly appreciated.... Thanks!

jmabbott888

First off..... Welcome to the forum. Now that thats out of the way, I use both iron & aluminum moulds, as long as you read & pay attention to the instructions on the aluminum (aka Lee) moulds they work great, the iron ones work great too. I'd recommend slugging your bore so you can get the right sizer for it, you can slug the bore with a soft lead slug. I usually size & lube in a tool called a Lubrisizer made by Lyman. There are other manufacturer but this is the one I inherited. The other way is tumble lube the bullets in liquid Alox, works great in my 250 Sav & 45acp revolver, haven't tried it with the 45-70 yet. If you are around Bakersfield Ca I'd be happy to show you how it's done.

ok thanks for the info; as for showing me... i live far far away in PA so that is out of the question:snail: but thanks for the offer... glad to know someone out there is wiliing to help!

myfriendis410