need some scouting help

Reaction score
this is my first year of turkey hunting and i need some help turkey scouting. i need to now what to look for were to look for it at, and stuff like that. and also i was scouting this morning and testing out my new lynch's box call and got one to gobble at me, but it kept going away from me. how do you call to get the bird to comw to you; and how long do you call, thnx

j3storch

Forever Hunting
Reaction score
Gretings:

I've been a novice for 5 years now. The one thing I've been told, and it makes sense, is to leave your calls at home when scouting. Calling to them will get their attention, they will home in on you. When you finally tire, or need to get home for supper and stand to walk away, they will see you. THus, when they hear THAT turkey again when your hunting, they will head the other way.

They will get call shy fast enough during the hunting season.

Check out Jesse's info on scouting, and hunting, using calls decoys etc at jesseshuntingpage.com.

Good luck.

Passthru

Banned
Reaction score
 Try this for awhile,Go out and listen to them wake up,pinpoint where the gobbler is roosted, then just sit and listen,after he flys down listen for his gobbles and see where he goes(direction,general location)do this for as many mornings as you can before season,also listen to more than just one bird this way,Get to know thier habits early morning.
 Then when its time position yourself in his line of travel but a short distance from his general roosting area,the idea here is to make it really easy for him to come to your calls(he is already going that way anyhow,might as well gather up an extra girlfreind)call sparingly and soft,Keep it simple,if he is coming right to you just wait in ambush.