New duck/goose choke

DanV

Reaction score
Thinking about getting one of the aftermarket chokes that slow the wad down so it does not affect your pattern. Any of you guys use these and how do you like them? Thinking about The Pattern Master as have seen them used(and advertised) on duckhunting shows alot. $80 seems high but really nothing compared to all my other hunting gear. Also what about the porting? Have heard it's not that bad as far as more noise, but know my ported rifles are considerably louder than before being ported.

Wildbio

Reaction score
I got a pattern master last year and could never figure out the lead on it.  The thing is almost a full choke and throws out a tight pattern and is tough on small ducks like teal.  I'll still probably use it on geese, but for ducks I'll go back to my modified.

Thonzberry

Reaction score
can you use a lower shot size if you use the pattern master. Useing T or BB on small size ducks does to much damage. Just wondering if useing 4 shot or lower will be ok.

mudhen

Reaction score
Very tight pattern.

My buddy has shot one for years - either he misses (rarely) or hammers the birds.  It is not a good choke for close shots over decoys.  

The real annoying part is that he shoots much, much, higher than I do.  Our shooting styles do not mix well because he has to shoot high and I like the birds in close.

But combined - we do shoot quite a few birds in any weather condition beacuse of the two different styles - it's a give and take.

mudhen - CA

wildlifedesigner

Reaction score