New to hunting

captn_tyler

Reaction score
Hey guys, I am kinda new to hunting. My dad took me years ago when I was younger. He got all the licences and drove so I dont know much. I am really getting the itch again to go hunt turkeys. I only have a Rem 870 20 gauge. Is this gun too small for turkeys? What basic equipment do I need. I know I need some camo, whats a good beginner brand? Also where should I go, I dont mind hiking around. Right now I live in so cal, driving up north is not a problem either. Let me know what ya think.

Fastshot

Reaction score
:welcome sign:
Just my 2 cents,
20 gauge is a good caliber for turkey lot’s of turkeys have been taken with a 20ga. Look into getting different brands of turkey loads and pattern them before season to see what loads pattern best in your gun, like 2 3/4in shell might pattern better in you gun than 3in shells would (if you gun handles 3in shells). For a choke, a full or extra full choke would be best. Check Cabelas and Bass Pro Shops for turkey chokes and loads​

Equipment wise, a sitting pad is a must (saves your butt). A hen decoy would be useful (if you take a decoy make sure you have it covered when taking it in the field, so you don't get shot). A map of your hunting area. Blaze orange vest. For call’s, a box call or a slate call (what ever feel’s best, both very easy to use), locater call, a mouth call (a mouth call takes some practice to use it, but very affective).

Camouflage, Long sleeve t-shirt, long pants, face mask, hat, turkey vest or back pack, and maybe a jacket. Mossy oak or Realtree are good patterns to use. Check Cabelas or Bass Pro Shops for apparel.

Hunting area, Forestry and BLM have good hunting opportunities. Here is the link to the Forestry website, it has maps of individual Forestry regions in California to download. http://www.fs.fed.us/r5/forestvisitormaps/