New to Vandy and Hunting

71FatFish

Reaction score
Hello! I've just PCS'd in to Vandy from the UK. I'm new to hunting but want to get into it. I've done some bunny blasting when I was a teen (our ranch had a jack rabbit infestation) but no other real hunting experience. I'd like to get into big game and boar hunting. I'm very familiar with firearms but don't currently own any rifles. Hopefully I'll be picking up a Savage Trophy Hunter XP in 6.5 Creedmoor next month.

My motivation to start hunting now is a desire to get outdoors more and unplug. Two years ago I was watching MeatEater on Netflix and my son, now 10 years old, asked me to take him hunting. Since then he's been committed to being a game warden when he grows up.

I'm solidly in my mid thirties so asking for a mentor is supposed to be embarrasiing, but none of that matters to me. I'd be interested in going out with anyone willing to have a tagalong. I have not completed any of the hunter's ed requirements and don't posess tags or any of that. I am unsure if I need any of that if I don't have a rifle and don't shoot. Otherwise, I'm here to soak up some of the local knowledge.

I'm also looking to get started with fishing in the area. I've spent a lot of time lake fishing for rainbow trout in the mountains of central Utah (home), but haven't done any regular fishing in years. My two kids (10 boy, 7 girl) are all over my back about going. Unfortunately my pole, a cheap fiberglass pole I had for at least 20 years, has finally died, so I need a new pole too.

I look forward to meeting y'all and getting out into the field.

-Ben

Bigolwiggler

Reaction score
Welcome aboard . I guess that you are at Vandenburg AFB . or (Vandy) I dont know much of the military slang : )
I think that the first thing you need to do is to get your hunters safety course for you and your son out of the way . There might be an age restriction for your daughter ?
Here is a DFG link to get you started ;