Hunting Buddy/Mentor Wanted Newbie looking for hunting buddy/mentor in Bay Area

nostrum

Reaction score
Hi everyone,
I’m new to hunting world & finding it amazing! Having spent time in IT domain, this is fairly new to me and don’t have friends or family who are into hunting.
Looking for hunting mentors/ partners I can learn from/with. Based out of South Bay but open to travel a few hours if needed.
Appreciate if you help me get started!

nostrum

Reaction score
Hi everyone,
I’m new to hunting world & finding it amazing! Having spent time in IT domain, this is fairly new to me and don’t have friends or family who are into hunting.
Looking for hunting mentors/ partners I can learn from/with. Based out of South Bay but open to travel a few hours if needed.
Appreciate if you help me get started!
Forgot to mention, I’m open for any type of hunting - preferably small game to begin with.

JohnCo

Reaction score
Welcome nostrum, I don't hunt small game, but folks here are happy to help and answer specific questions you might have.

Have you passed your hunters safety course?

nostrum

Reaction score
Welcome nostrum, I don't hunt small game, but folks here are happy to help and answer specific questions you might have.

Have you passed your hunters safety course?
Thanks for the support.
yep, just got my hunting license and blazing orange clothing.
Made a few friends in Hunter Ed class who are like me (no frens/family into hunting), & looking for company. Currently, we are just going to Coyote sporting (South Bay) for practicing.

Can you please share any tips/tricks for small game hunting - what to wear, where to go, what’s the best time & season, etc.

Curious how often do fellow hunters get called for walking alone with a loaded gun? Should I be expecting cops by my car when I return back? :-/ Not having done this before, it does feel a bit awkward :(

For now, plan to do a guided pheasant hunt, as that seems to be the easiest [paid :( ] option.

JohnCo

Reaction score