Newbie to Deer Hunting - First try in D8

Sigma

Reaction score
Hi Guys,

As the title states, I'm new to deer hunting and this forum. Looks like a lot of knowledgeable people lurk around here.

Heading up to D8 on opening day and figured I'd do some scouting a day or two before the opener. Any recommendations on where to go?

Also, I plan on hiking in a distance and was curious what methods most of you use to get the deer out. Do you quarter it or debone the deer completely and just haul out the meat? What about transport methods? I've read about everything from dragging the deer out to lashing it on a plastic sled.

I have an old Jansport external backpack with aluminum frame capable of carrying a good load, and think I'll probably be faced with two trips or more in and out if I do succeed. At this point, I'm not getting my hopes up too high - I'm aware of the success rates in that zone.

Any responses appreciated.

Best Regards

BDB

Reaction score
Welcome to the site, lots of good info here. I have never hunted D8 so I can't help you there. As for getting it out, bone it out and carry it all in one trip is a good way. If he is a big buck and it's too heavy two trips will get a boned out deer back to the truck. I have never tried the sled but have only heard not so good things about doing it that way. Good luck in D8.

Speckmisser

Reaction score
Welcome to the site, Sigma.

Like BDB, I can't tell you anything about D-8. Your plan to get in early and start scouting is a solid one, and definitely the right way to go.

As far as getting the game out WHEN (not if... think positive, right?) you score, don't listen to BDB. He shoots all his critters right in the road and never has a tough drag.

But I guess he's right... if you're packed in, boning the meat will make the recovery a lot easier. You can reduce a pretty big animal to a reasonable weight. Don't need those bones anyway.