normal shot distance?

sdsnowbound

Reaction score
Hello,
I'm shooting a recurve w/o a sight. I participated in the King Arthurs tounament in San diego today and was pretty blown away by how far the shots were- a lot of them were in the 35 yard to 55 yard range with a few at 60 and 1 at 70 yards. Is that a normal shooting distance for traditional archery tournaments/competitions? I just started shooting last year and I'd like to become good enough to shoot respectably in competitions and eventually do some bow hunting. I usually practice at 15- 20 yards and sometimes go back to 30 yards. What distance do you normally shoot? What distances are normal at club shoots etc? Thanks for your advice.
Bruce

myfriendis410

Reaction score
I recently took up a longbow and have been shooting it steadily for the last 2 1/2 months. I only shoot at 20 and 30 yards with it and our little 3D shoot is set up so that the trad guys shoot at no more than 30 yards to compete with the compound guys.

I would like to shoot longer yardages, but I think another year at thirty will be needed to perfect my form and release before I can consider moving back.

Orygun

Reaction score
Normal for you is where you can place an arrow consistently. For hunting purposes that may be a lot closer than field targets. Some here can drop an arrow in from a far piece and others (me) need to be much closer.

For tournaments, longer distances separate the accurate from the really accurate. Nothing wrong with that.

Speckmisser

Reaction score
Those longer ranges are normal for competition and tourney shooting. I believe the Olympics even has a 100 meter target.

I don't shoot competition, but I do enjoy just shooting crazy distances with my recurve out in the field, shooting pine cones, sticks, and other inanimate objects.