NOT denned up in the desert

Mojave

Reaction score
Been following this catagory quietly without comment, as I'm pretty much a novice at hunting coyotes. I spend a lot of time out on the desert, though, so I'm an expert at seeing them! I read the comments on 'yotes still being denned up in Carrizo, and thought I'd offer a desert report. I camped out one night with my son in the El Mirage area over Easter weekend, and we were visited at about 2 A.M. by a sizable pack of coyotes, out carousing. They always sound like there are a lot of them, with all their yipping and howling, but this was a pretty big pack. I was too tired to get up and see how many, or to take a pot shot. Anyway, next morning at about 9:30, we heard them coming in fast again! I had time to put down my pan of bacon, and get out my gun and load it, but not quite enough time to get under cover before they came tearing over the rise into camp. I got off only one shot at the big male out in front, and missed. They shut up and turned tail as soon as they spotted us, and we didn't hear or see them again. Next week we will build a blind...

Hook

Reaction score
I am glad to see someone is seeing coyotes......uh..where exactly were you camped???:smile-big-blue: Just kidding.

I have a new 243 I need to break in.....

Frank

Forever Hunting
Reaction score
I am Sooooooo  J E A L O U S :)

Way to go, Mojave.... glad to see someone with some coyote luck...

Frank  

Mojave

Reaction score
No secret where we were, Hook, but the .243 would be a problem in the area. There is the L.A. County line on one side (shotgun only - the whole Northeast county), and houses on the San Bernadino County side. We were on private land, pretty close to where the county line has a "jog" in it, near Black Butte. There is some BLM land nearby, and you know that pack has a pretty wide range.

Hook

Reaction score