Please be honest....

Bowfever

Reaction score
First off this is my first post to this forum.  I feel like it is xmas, since I stumbled onto this website of great information.  I have always wanted a trail cam but did not want to fork out the money they wanted for one.  I am a newbie in the biggest sense when it comes to soldering "tiny" things.  Honestly how difficult are the modifications to the camera and PIR board???  

Bowfever
Southern NE

h2obobh2o

Reaction score
The mods are not difficult, if you have soldering experience, if you don't have soldering experience, you could end up with shorted pins, or worse, you could lift the traces up on the board if you apply to much heat. I would practice soldering on "junk" circuit boards, or find a friend that can solder it for you. It doesn't take long to modify the camera, and the PIR isn't hard to modify either. I went to school for electronics, and solder frequently, so my answer would probably be different than someone with "no experience".  Don't let the experience thing hold you back though, there are plenty of guys on here that never soldered before, and have succesfully built camera's. Take your time, and practice, practice, practice. GOOD LUCK!

bigmandude

Reaction score
well, following the instructions isnt hard at all.  the guys here have made things easy, provided you dont go out on a limb with different equipment. stick to the cameras and sensors shown on these pages and use the KISS method...(keep it simple stupid)

soldering is not that hard but may require some practice.  one very good tip for soldering wires to circuit boards is to tin your wire first. or apply a tiny bead to the circuit board location first,,, that way you are only holding a wire w/one hand and an iron with the other (dont need a 3rd hand to hold the solder) also keep bare wire length to a minimum so things cant short out later. 1/8" is usually enough for most connections directly to a circuit board.